National Trial Competition


The National Trial Competition was established in 1975 to encourage and strengthen students' advocacy skills through quality competition and valuable interaction with members of the bench and bar.  The program is designed to expose law students to the nature of trial practice and to serve as a supplement to their education. It is the Texas Young Lawyers Association intent to provide a meaningful contribution to the development of future trial lawyers. 

Congratulations to the 2016 National Champion team from Harvard Law School.  Please click here for a list of the full results from the competition in Dallas, Texas, March 30-April 3, 2016.  

2016 National Problem - posted February 23, 2016

NTC Rules 

NTC Regional BreakdownThe chart reflects all ABA-accredited law schools in each of the 14 regions.  This is not a list of schools registered; only a list of schools that are able to compete in each region.  If you do not see your school listed please contact the NTC Coordinator.  The Regional Hosts are listed in red.

NTC Regional Map

Please click here to view the NTC Regional Problem - posted November 17, 2016

Intra-School Competition Materials:  Although the method used to select your school's team(s) is left to you, we recommend that an intra school competition be used to choose the regional participants. To help you with your intra-school competition, we have included materials used at the regional and national levels.

  • Scoring Criteria
  • Official Scoring Ballot
  • Master Scoring Ballot
  • Bailiffs' Guidelines and Instruction Sheet

Archived Information

Click here to view the National Trial Competition Champions

Click here to view the National Trial Competition - Past Problem Archive


April 22, 2015
Passing the Bar: A Study Guide
Passing the Bar: A Study Guide

The bar exam – the last hurdle you must jump before becoming a licensed lawyer. I remember feeling relieved that I was "almost there" yet terrified that everything came down to one test. Three years (or maybe more) of lectures, papers, and exams came down to one three-day exam...

Grievance and Malpractice 101
Grievance and Malpractice 101

No lawyer ever wants to receive a grievance or malpractice claim. But most lawyers are likely to receive at least one of these claims throughout their law career. This pocket guide will provide practical tips and resources on how to avoid and deal with these issues.

Social Media 101
Social Media 101

Are there restrictions on what a lawyer can post to social media? Are social media posts considered advertisements? Are other social media activities such as "friending" regulated? This guide is intended to help you better understand the rules governing lawyer communications in social media.