Top Story

Top Story

Texas Young Lawyers Association election

In the 2018 Texas Young Lawyers Association election, Victor Flores of Denton was elected president-elect and will serve as TYLA president from June 2019 to June 2020. Flores received 55.46 percent of the 5,353 votes cast; his opponent, Raymond Baeza of El Paso, received 43.53 percent. Write-in candidates composed 1.01 percent of the votes cast.

Flores is a U.S. Marine Corps Iraq War veteran. He practices government law in Denton and serves on the Texas Bar Journal Board of Editors, State Bar of Texas Government Law Council, Texas Young Lawyers Association, and ABA Young Lawyers Division Council.

Flores has led many TYLA projects and partnerships including Vote America!, which inspired civic engagement among youth; Strength in Unity, aimed at improving police-community relations; Breaking the Silence, addressing attorney mental health; and One Love, helping students avoid abusive relationships.

He also is a Texas Bar Foundation fellow, frequent speaker at State Bar continuing legal education programs, a mentor with Communities In Schools of North Texas, and legal counsel for his church.

The following individuals were elected to the TYLA Board of Directors:

Nicholas D. Mosser, Plano, District 4; Timothy Newman, Dallas, District 5, Place 2; Lindsey Vanden Eykel, Dallas, District 5, Place 4; M. Kaylan Dunn, Houston, District 6, Place 2; John Busch, Houston, District 6, Place 6; Katherine (“Katie”) Fillmore, Austin, District 8, Place 2; Travis Heller, Fort Worth, District 10, Place 2; Louis Williams, Corpus Christi, District 12; Kirk Cooper, El Paso, District 14; Tim Williams, Amarillo, District 16; Ryan V. Cox, San Antonio, District 18, Place 2.

Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.

Submit an Article

Interested in writing an article for eNews?

Contact Us

Connect With Us