TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Feature TYLA Project

Feature TYLA Project

TYLA to sponsor memorial book donation and Trial Run fun run at Annual Meeting
By: Clint Harbour

In July 2012, at the Bar Leaders Conference in Houston, the Texas Young Lawyers Association lost one of its own. Keith L. Krueger, who had recently been elected as Secretary of TYLA, died in his sleep due to complications associated with diabetes. Originally from Brenham, he brought his small-town sensibilities wherever he travelled, and he inspired many with his honesty, work ethic, and commitment to service. Losing someone so close and so full of life, energy, and promise inspired many in TYLA to focus on healthier lifestyles and drawing bar members’ attention to wellness issues that affect them.

To that end, TYLA is capping off the bar year’s Generation Generosity Project by sponsoring a book drive (new books only, please) to benefit the Dell Children’s Hospital in Austin. The books will be donated in Keith’s honor and will be marked accordingly. Additionally, we will be wrapping up the year with the first ever “Trial Run 5K” in conjunction with the State Bar Annual Meeting. This free fun run will start from the Hilton Austin Hotel at 7 a.m. on Saturday, June 28. The race is open to all ages and abilities; the hope is to encourage lawyers (and their families) from across Texas to incorporate a little exercise into their already-packed schedules and to take time to take care of their health.

I hope to see you there as I will be donating books and running and thinking about my good friend Keith. For while his passing may not have been preventable, Keith can continue to inspire his fellow lawyers to be as healthy as we can be.

If you would like to donate books or learn more about the Trial Run 5K, please contact Laura Pratt or Rebekah Brooker.

Clint Harbour is an Assistant Attorney General for the State of Texas who primarily represents the Texas Department of Transportation. He currently serves as the liaison between TYLA and the Texas Access to Justice Commission.