TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Justice for all is one of the fundamental principles on which our country was founded.  Today, only 20% of poor Texans who need legal assistance actually receive it. You can help by contributing to the Access to Justice (ATJ) Campaign.

Your tax-deductible $150 ATJ contribution helps legal aid provide critical support to the elderly, veterans, victims of domestic abuse, at-risk families facing issues like home foreclosure, and victims of natural disasters.

If you wish to show your support of access to justice, please consider joining our Champion of Justice Society. Individuals can give at the Sustaining ($1,000 per year for 5 years), Gold ($1,000+), Silver ($500-$999), and Bronze ($250 - $499) levels.

Benefits of membership in the Champion of Justice Society include:
• An invitation to the Champion of Justice Society annual reception
• Recognition at the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting
• The Champion of Justice Society crest displayed next to your name on the State Bar of Texas "Find a Lawyer" page listing
• Name listing in an issue of the Texas Bar Journal and in the Commission newsletter, website and Facebook page

The Access to Justice Commission also presents the Champion of Justice Law Firm Awards to Texas law firms with the highest percentage of attorneys contributing to the Access to Justice Campaign.

Last year’s ATJ Campaign raised more than $1 million. Our 2014 goal is to boost the number of contributing attorneys and raise over $1.2 million! To contribute, elect to make a voluntary donation on your 2014 State Bar Dues statement or visit www.texasatj.org/donate.