TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Important Dates To Remember

March 21, 2014
TYLA Presents:  Overcoming Biases and Boundaries - Free CLE on Lawyers with Disabilities11:30 – 1:00 p.m., Texas Law Center in Austin.  Please click here for more information and to RSVP.

March 26-30, 2014
TYLA National Trial Competition - Austin, Texas

For more information and to sign up to help, please click here.

March 27, 2014
SBOT International Law Section Annual Institute, co-sponsored by TYLA
“New Opportunities and Enduring Risks: Navigating International Transactions in a Turbulent World”
8:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m., Asia Society of Houston
For more information or to register, visit the Section’s website.

April 1, 2014
Distribution of SBOT and TYLA paper and electronic election ballots

April 1, 2014
Deadline for receipt of Law Day contests entries from local bar associations

April 1, 2014
TYLA deadline to receive completed ballots for the ABA YLD 
District 25 Representative election - 5:00 pm

April 8-11, 2014
ABA Days - Washington, DC

April 11, 2014
TYLA deadline for receipt Liberty Bell Award, Outstanding Young Lawyer and Outstanding Mentor Award of Texas applications

April 21, 2014
TYLA deadline to receive entries for the TYLA State Award of Acheivement competition

April 24, 2014
TYLA local affiliate grant reports due

April 30, 2014
Deadline for receipt of SBOT and TYLA President-elect and director ballots - 5:00 pm, Texas Law Center

April 30, 2014
Election results announced for SBOT and TYLA President-elect and director races