TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Access to Justice Contribution Campaign & Champion of Justice Society

More than 5.7 million Texans qualify for civil legal aid, yet only 20 percent of the need is able to be met.  You can help by making the $150 Access to Justice (ATJ) Contribution on your dues statement. Your tax-deductible contribution helps legal aid provide critical support to the elderly, veterans, victims of domestic abuse, and at-risk families facing issues like home foreclosure, and victims of natural disasters.

If you wish to show your strong support of access to justice, please consider joining our Champion of Justice Society. Membership levels are Sustaining ($1,000 per year for 5 years), Gold ($1,000+), Silver ($500-$999), and Bronze ($250 - $499). Membership benefits include: invitation to the ATJ reception honoring Society members at the State Bar’s Annual Meeting, the Champion of Justice Society crest displayed next to your name on the popular "Find a Lawyer" page on the State Bar website, your name listed in an issue of the Texas Bar Journal, and in the Commission newsletter and on its website and Facebook page.

To contribute, elect to make a voluntary donation on your 2014 State Bar Dues statement or visit www.texasatj.org/donate or donate on your My Bar Page.  For more information about the ATJ Contribution Campaign or Champion of Justice Society, contact Liza Levine, Director of Development at (512) 427-1892.

Champions of Justice Veterans Gala

The Texas Access to Justice Commission with its co-sponsor, the State Bar of Texas, honored veterans throughout the state at the Champions of Justice Gala on Tuesday, May 13, 2014.  With more than 400 people in attendance, the Gala raised $348,450.  Proceeds from the gala will be distributed by the Texas Access to Justice Foundation and dedicated to the provision of civil legal services for low-income Texas veterans.  These services assist in addressing legal issues related to marital problems, difficulties in getting medical or disability benefits, wrongful foreclosures, and other situations that may arise due to a veteran’s absence during military service.

Host committee co-chairs for the gala included prominent Texas attorneys who donated their time for the effort: S. Jack Balagia of Exxon Mobil Corporation in Irving, Jerry K. Clements of Locke Lord LLP in Dallas, Joseph D. Jamail of Jamail & Kolius in Houston, Janet L. Kelly of ConocoPhillips in Houston, Judith A. Lindquist of H-E-B of San Antonio, and Wayne Watts, of AT&T, Inc. of Dallas.  Major sponsors of the event included: AT&T, Exxon Mobil, Jamail & Kolius, Locke Lord LLP, H-E-B, Vinson & Elkins LLP, Locke Lord LLP, Advocates for Justice, Arnold & Porter LLP, and Norton Rose Fulbright.

To view photos from the event, click here.