TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Join the Pro Bono Party

National Pro Bono Week is coming up on October 21 – 25. Organizations across the state are celebrating the work of pro bono volunteers and turning their attention to meeting the need for pro bono services.

During Pro Bono Week we’ll be recognizing outstanding pro bono volunteers and programs on our Facebook page. Follow us on Facebook for more information about pro bono opportunities and ways to get involved. You can also visit the Celebrate Pro Bono site to see if there are any Pro Bono Week celebrations near you.

On October 21, the Texas Access to Justice Commission and the Texas Access to Justice Foundation will be holding a reception to kick off Pro Bono Week and recognize supporters of access to justice, including the members of the Pro Bono College. The Pro Bono College was created in 1992 by the State Bar of Texas to recognize attorneys who show an outstanding commitment to pro bono service. Attorneys who give at least 75 hours of eligible legal assistance work are invited to join the College. This year the College has over 600 members!

Want to join the pro bono party? Visit texaslawyershep.org to find local opportunities to volunteer.

Golfing for a Good Cause
On Thursday, November 14, the Commission and the General Counsel Forum will be hosting the Second Annual Charity Golf Classic in San Antonio to benefit the Texas Access to Justice Foundation.

The Charity Golf Classic brings General Counsels, Justices of the Supreme Court of Texas, and attorneys from across the state together in support of access to justice for low-income Texans. It’s a great opportunity to network with your colleagues and play a round of golf at one of the top courses in the country.

We’d love for you to join us. Registration is limited to 144 players, so we encourage you to register today to reserve your spot.