TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Feature TYLA Affiliate

Feature TYLA Affiliate

Hidalgo County Young Lawyers Association’s 9th Annual Monster Bash
By: Carina C. Garza, HCYLA President-Elect

Is your local affiliate looking for a fun way to engage current members, recruit new ones, and give back to your community?  Throw a Halloween costume party benefiting your favorite charity!

This year marks the 9th Anniversary of Hidalgo County Young Lawyers Association’s Monster Bash social. Monster Bash is open to the public and features a Halloween costume contest, live music, and food and beverages for the night. The proceeds of our Monster Bash benefit the Make-A-Wish Foundation® and go towards sponsoring a local child’s wish.  It typically takes $5,000 to grant one wish, and past sponsored wishes include fantastic trips to Disney World.

Each year, we strive to make Monster Bash bigger and better than the last, and this year is no different! Our Monster Bash will be held on Friday, October 25th at Ace’s North Bar & Grill in McAllen, Texas. If you are in the area, stop by and let loose with us for a great cause!

To ensure a high turnout and capitalize on attendees from the general public, we recommend hosting Monster Bash on the Friday night before Halloween.  This minimizes any conflicts with any other local Halloween parties.  We also recommend selecting a venue in an entertainment district or other high-traffic area. If you have any questions or would like more information regarding this project, please contact Nereida Lopez or Carina C. Garza.

We would like to thank our sponsors (past and present), past board members, and our current board members for making Monster Bash an annual success and for all of their hard work in making this year’s event possible: Nereida Lopez (President), Carina C. Garza (President-Elect), Renee Rodriguez (Past President), Benjamin Guerra (Secretary), JoAnne Garcia (Treasurer), Joel Garcia, Hector Bustos, Ana Villegas, Lauren Sepulveda, Veronica Sepulveda, Charles ‘Charlie’ Downing, Greg Kerr, Juan Pequeno, Weldon ‘Beau’ Nixon Jr., Benfrancis ‘Ben’ Abila, Jason Jarvis, and Francisco ‘Frank’ Guerrero II.