TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Feature TYLA Project

Feature TYLA Project

TYLA Featured Project: Grievance and Malpractice Pocket Guide
By:  Ryan Squires, Scott, Douglas, & McConnico, LLP

No lawyer wants to think about being sued by a former client or defending against a grievance. And we hope that you never have to experience such events. But chances are, most lawyers, at some point during the course of their legal career, will be involved in such disputes. Maybe it’s a lawsuit filed against you by a disgruntled former client. Maybe it’s a grievance complaint filed against you with the State Bar. Or maybe you have a friend or colleague going through something similar and you just want to be able to provide some thoughtful guidance.

Whatever the situation, it is important for all lawyers, regardless of practice area, to have a general understanding about legal-malpractice suits and the grievance process. These subjects can be intimidating, but possessing some basic information will help reduce the intimidation. The TYLA Pocket Guide: Grievance and Malpractice 101 provides that basic information. In this Guide, lawyers will find helpful information on disciplinary statistics, the grievance process, legal-malpractice suits, and even answers to frequently-asked questions about these subjects.

At a minimum, this knowledge will aid you in your practice. But more importantly, this knowledge will give you useful information should you or a colleague ever be subjected to claims against your firm, your reputation, or your license.

Ryan Squires tries lawsuits, including professional-liability cases, on both sides of the docket as a partner at Scott, Douglas & McConnico, LLP, in Austin. He was named the Austin Young Lawyers Association’s 2013 Outstanding Young Lawyer and is one of the authors of the Grievance & Malpractice 101 guide.