TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Top Story

Top Story

TYLA Welcomes New Directors and President-elect; State Bar Election Moves to Run-off
By:  Leif Olson, The Olson Firm, PLLC

Rebekah Steely Brooker of Dallas was elected by TYLA’s members last month to serve as President-elect of the Texas Young Lawyers Association for the 2013–14 bar year and President in 2014–15. Brooker is an associate at Passman & Jones in Dallas where she practices probate and estate law. She and her husband, Chip, an associate with Haynes & Boone, have three children. She currently serves as TYLA Secretary. She and her fellow President-elect nominee, Alfonso Cabañas of San Antonio, campaigned throughout Texas. Coincidentally, both Brooker and Cabañas welcomed newborn children in February before beginning their campaigns in March.

The Big Bar’s election, however, isn’t over: Trey Appfel (League City) and Steve Fischer (Rockport), both solo practitioners, will face each other in a run-off election to be held May 9–23. The winner of that election will serve as President-elect in 2013–14 and as President in 2014–15. Neither Appfel, Fischer, nor Larry Hicks (El Paso) won a majority of votes during the general State Bar election. Many young lawyers may not know how unusual this year’s State Bar election was; a President-elect candidate was certified for the ballot following a petition for only the second time. All Texas lawyers, whether they cast a ballot in the initial round of voting or not, are eligible to vote in the run-off. Those interested in more information on the candidates can visit their websites, view the candidates’ remarks as given at the State Bar’s candidate forum, or visit the State Bar’s election website.  As in the original election, Texas lawyers can cast their run-off ballots online.

Kristy Blanchard (Plano) will serve as TYLA President for 2013–14. Along with Blanchard and Brooker, TYLA’s 2013–14 officers will be Vice President Victor Villarreal (Laredo), Treasurer Barrett Thomas (Sweetwater), Secretary Priscilla Camacho (San Antonio), Board of Directors Chair Cameron Cox (Denton), Chair-elect Dustin Howell (Austin), and Immediate Past President C.E. Rhodes (Houston). In addition to their offices, Camacho and Thomas serve as elected directors to TYLA’s board.

TYLA members also elected members of the board of directors from their individual districts. Joining the Board next year are Amanda Abraham (Marshall), Alex Bell (Waco), Aaron Burke (Dallas), Laura Docker (Fort Worth), Andrew Dornburg (Angleton), Morgan Gaskin (Houston), Amber James (Midland), Laura Pratt (Lubbock), Alex Roberts (Houston), Eduardo Romero (Laredo), Brook Stuntebeck (Lewisville), Jacquelyn Wilson (Austin). Lance Currie (Dallas), Brandy Wingate (McAllen), and Baylor Wortham (Beaumont) were also re-elected to the board.

Blanchard will be sworn in as TYLA President, and the terms of TYLA’s new officers and directors will begin, at TYLA’s Annual Meeting at 5:30 p.m. on June 21. The Annual Meeting is held in conjunction with the State Bar’s Annual Meeting at the Hotel Anatole in Dallas.