TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Individuals wishing to show their strong support may join the Champion of Justice Society. Membership is on an annual basis and benefits include a Champion of Justice Society reception at the State Bar Annual Meeting; Champion of Justice Society crest displayed next to your name on the State Bar website’s “Find a Lawyer” page; and listing in the Texas Bar Journal and the Commission’s newsletter, website, and Facebook page.

Champion of Justice Society Giving Levels:

Sustaining Member ($1,000 per year x 5 years)      

Gold Member  ($1,000 +)

Silver Member ($500 - $999)

Bronze Member ($250 - $499)

Your gift can help low-income Texans achieve a brighter future. Thank you!

ABA Days

This year’s ABA Days in Washington DC took place April 16–18, 2013. The Texas team included Harry Reasoner, Jim Sales, Harriet Miers, Justice Gina Benavides, Lisa Tatum, Roland Johnson, Judge Lora Livingston, Dick Tate, Eduardo Rodriguez, Michelle Hunter, Trish McAllister, and Betty Balli Torres. These advocates for access to justice split into three teams and met with 37 of the 38 Texas Congressional members including Senators Ted Cruz and John Cornyn.

Vice President Joe Biden; U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder, Jr.; senior administration officials; chief justices of several states, including Chief Justice Wallace Jefferson of Texas; and leaders of the legal profession from across the country gathered at the White House for a program entitled "A White House Forum on Increasing Access to Justice." It was the second such event that the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) has co-hosted with the White House. Holder discussed various equal access initiatives at the Justice Department, including the Access to Justice Initiative, a new office he launched three years ago "to help spearhead national efforts to ensure that basic legal services are available, affordable and accessible for everyone in this country—regardless of status or income."

President Obama’s 2014 budget includes $430 million in LSC funding. This includes $35.7 million for Texas, an increase of $9.1 million. Texas’s Access to Justice team asked each member of the Texas Congressional delegation to support the President’s budget for LSC funding.

Contribute to the ATJ Fund

May begins the time to renew your State Bar of Texas annual dues. It is also a wonderful time to remember those who are unable to access the legal services they may desperately need. Lawyers can include a suggested $150 contribution for access to justice with their annual dues statement or can contribute online at any time through MyBarPage. Organizations and non-lawyer individuals can support legal services to the poor by making a contribution at the Access to Justice Foundation’s website.