TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Feature TYLA Project

Feature TYLA Project

TYLA/ACTL National Trial Competition - Advocacy at its Best
By: Wendy Adele Humphrey, TYLA District 3 Director, NTC Co-Chair

A famous musician.  Drugs.  Death.  Yes – it’s that time of the year again – time for the top 28 law school mock trial teams in the nation to compete in the National Trial Competition!  The 38th annual National Trial Competition (NTC), which is hosted by the Texas Young Lawyers Association and the American College of Trial Lawyers, will be held in San Antonio, Texas, on April 3-6, 2013.  More than 320 law school mock trial teams competed in regional competitions last month and the top two teams from each of the 14 regions will compete in the national competition. Click here to view the 28 teams participating in this year’s national competition.

The National Trial Competition was established in 1975 to encourage and strengthen law students’ advocacy skills through quality competition and valuable interaction with members of the bench and bar.  The program is designed to expose law students to the nature of trial practice and to serve as a supplement to their legal education.  Thea Whalen, a 2001 NTC champion and the current NTC Regional Liaison, explains that “[t]he caliber of judges and the prestige of the ACTL lets law students know how important the bar takes this competition.  And, TYLA’s efforts in securing volunteer witnesses enables the students to have a much more realistic experience compared to other competitions.”  Other past winners of the national competition have shared their memories of competing and one similar theme resonates:  The experience has given them assurance of their abilities and valuable professional contacts.

This year the national mock trial problem is State v. Martin and the problem as written by ACTL member Marvin W. Jones.  The State of Lone Star has charged Dr. John Martin with manslaughter for the death of a famous entertainer, David Kitner (a/k/a “Special Kit”).  Dr. Martin was Kinter’s personal physician, and the State alleges that he administered a pharmaceutical drug, Propofol, to Kitner when he was aware that Kitner was in a condition such that the administration of the drug presented a substantial and unjustifiable risk of causing, and did in fact cause, Kitner’s death.

HOW CAN YOU HELP?  The NTC Committee is currently recruiting (1) judges, (2) testifying witnesses, and (3) bailiffs (timekeepers) for the mock trial rounds on Thursday, April 4th and Friday, April 5th.  If you or someone you know would like to volunteer, please visit www.sayla.org and click on the competition link.