TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Top Story

Top Story

Annual Meeting Update
By:  Sally Pretorius

This past June, the Texas Young Lawyers Association said farewell to an inspiring and fulfilled bar year and welcomed the prospect of a new bar year full of fresh ideas and new leadership.

On June 21st, the Texas Young Lawyers Association held its Annual Meeting at the State Bar of Texas Annual Meeting in Dallas, Texas. The night included a recollection of last years amazing accomplishments and global outreach under the leadership of then President, C.E. Rhodes. The accomplishments included recognition of the creation of landmark projects including “What Do Lawyers Do?,” “Slavery Out of the Shadows: Spotlight on Human Trafficking,” “A Welcoming Home: Be a Foster Family,” a “Truancy Guide,” as well as the continuation of current projects including “Vote America, ” “Healing the Wounds,” and many others. 

The night also included recognition of those who have gone out of their way to make TYLA a better organization and those who have excelled in service to the bar. TYLA was privileged to award three nomination-based awards, including Outstanding Mentor Award, the Liberty Bell Award, Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award. Those awards were presented as follows:
• Outstanding Mentor Award: Judge Harlin D. Hale of Dallas
• The Liberty Bell Award: Donna Kay McKinney of San Antonio
• Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year Award: Britany Byrd of Dallas

C.E. Rhodes handed out numerous awards to TYLA Board Members who have been shining stars within the organization:
• Texas Young Lawyers Association President’s Award: Priscilla Camacho of San Antonio
• Joseph M. Pritchard Inn Outstanding Director Award: Sam Houston of San Antonio
• Texas Young Lawyers Association Keith L. Krueger Leadership Award: Dustin M. Howell of Austin
• Outstanding First Year Directors: Sally Pretorius of Austin and Amanda Torres of Corpus Christi
• President’s Awards of Merit: Anita Barksdale of Houston, Robert E. Booth of Galveston, Patrice B. Childress of Houston, Lacy L. Durham of Dallas, Zeke Fortenberry of Dallas, Zachary Hall of Austin, Clint Harbour of Austin, Wendy Adele Humphrey of Lubbock, Laura Pratt of Lubbock, Erin O’Driscoll of Houston, Leif Olson of Humble, and Shivali Sharma of Texarkana.

The night was markedly special as TYLA was able to pay homage to Keith L. Krueger, a member of the TYLA executive board who passed away last July. In honor of Keith’s amazing life and service to the bar, C.E. Rhodes created an award in his name. Dustin Howell of Austin, Texas was the proud recipient of this award.

Upon paying homage to the 2012-2013 Executive Board, who poured their heart and soul into projects and service to the bar, Alyssa J. Long turned the gavel over to Cameron Cox, Chair who presented Kristy Blanchard, TYLA President, to be sworn in by Judge Lynn Cherry.

Congratulations to the leadership of the TYLA 2012-2013 Bar Year and stay tuned for all the great projects to come this year!