TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Editor's Column

Editor's Column

By: John W. Shaw, Whitaker Chalk Swindle & Schwartz PLLC

I really enjoy writing the Editor’s Column for the December issue. Given the nature of time, I’ve only been able to do it twice in the last two years. (Unfortunately, time is something that I have yet to find an answer for. There’s only so much of it, and usually, that’s never enough!) Part of the reason that I enjoy it so much is because it allows me to reflect and give thanks for all the good work that TYLA and its members have accomplished over the last calendar year and to also look forward to the amazing things that we have in store for the New Year.

For those of you who are unaware, TYLA has embarked on a journey to help change the perception that the general public has of lawyers. Although we hate to admit it—and for most of us it makes us cringe—the general public often views lawyers skeptically, to put it mildly in some cases. By adopting the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers’ (DAYL) “Generation Generosity” program, TYLA has begun a mission to step outside of our comfort zone of providing law related outreach, to simply providing outreach—wherever we can, whenever we can. In this month’s eNews, Director Aaron Capps will tell you how TYLA accomplished this mission in Lubbock in November by volunteering with The Children’s Home of Lubbock.

Keeping in the spirit of giving, David Courreges will share with us how lawyers throughout Central Texas stepped up to the plate to lend a hand to flood victims in the Onion Creek Watershed in Austin. They not only provided help navigating the legal complexities associated with catastrophic loss, many got their boots on the ground and helped remove debris and save personal belongings. Some of those who suffered loss were in our legal community so the help that was provided by fellow lawyers was all the more appreciated.

Looking forward to the New Year:
• Blake Hawthorne, the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Texas will fill us in on the new mandatory e-filing requirements that will begin on January 1, 2014;
• Cordell Parvin will give us practical tips on client development and how to make 2014 even more successful than 2013;
• Bill Richmond will enlighten us on the tips and tricks of the Texas Public Information Act;
• Emmy Lu Trammell will tell us how to keep from completely regretting all of the overindulgence that the Holiday Season brings; and
• The Access to Justice Commission will share with us the good works that are being done within the public-interest arena that is truly helping people stay in their homes for the holiday.

We hope you enjoy the last edition of eNews for 2013. I would like to personally thank all of the Directors, Officers, and State Bar Team Members who work month-in and month-out to bring you eNews. As always, please do not hesitate to contact any of our directors or officers if there is something that you would like to contribute or know about.

In closing, I would also like to remind you that although we are lawyers, we are also, mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles…you get the drift. Take some time to spend the holidays with those who care the most about you and who you care the most about. It’s easy to get caught up in the import of what we do, but remember, at the end of the day it is your family and friends who provide the support that makes what we do possible. Make sure they know that you appreciate that.

Best Regards,