TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Feature TYLA Affiliate

Feature TYLA Affiliate

Collin County Young Lawyers Association Teams with Other Local Bars to Match Mentors with Mentees
By:  Kimberly Killebrew

Collin County is one of the fastest-growing counties in Texas and we have a large number of solo practitioners.  Many of whom don’t have a resource to go to when they have questions about how to handle a situation or something as simple as how to get a certain document admitted into evidence. To help out these new lawyers or even a lawyer who decides to change the area of law he or she practices in, the Collin County Young Lawyers Association, Plano Bar Association, Collin County Bar Association and the Curt B. Henderson American Inn of Court have teamed to develop a mentor program for Collin County lawyers.

We discovered that one bar association had a lot of mentors but not mentees and vice versa. To maximize the resources and match people together, the various bar associations are working together on this program. Many of the lawyers who have volunteered to be mentors said that they had someone who helped them when they first started out and they wanted to pay it back and help the new lawyers in our county. There was an overwhelming response from Collin County’s district and county court judges in helping to spread the word to new lawyers, and others, in Collin County who might need a mentor. Signs will be put up in the Collin County Courthouse to let lawyers know about the program as well. WE hope that if you are reading this article and need a mentor in Collin County, you will participate in the program! A reception will be held for the mentees to meet their mentors and get to know others lawyers in Collin County. Participants in the program will be given a tour of the courthouse and provided tips on filing documents and practicing in Collin County. For more information on the program, contact Kimberly Killebrew or Chris Farish.